Day 2 – The Last We’ll See of Hobbiton

hill

Today, like the day previous, showed me two things. First, I’m incredibly out of shape. Second, I’m not as incredibly out of shape as I thought.

As for Sam, Frodo and Pippin, with great haste they crossed the road leading to the Brandywine Bridge. This was the road (I think) that Bilbo used in The Hobbit. It was the main road, but the hobbits were now trying not to be seen. They now entered Tookland and headed for the Green Hill Country.

When they reached the Green Hill (not to be confused with The Hill), they could look back, down into Hobbiton, which was then about seven miles distant, “twinkling in the gentle valley of the Water.” As they continued, Hobbiton disappeared, though they could still see Bywater – home of the Green Dragon.

Thoughts on the Passage
Our three hobbits traveled 18 miles on their first day. And so, even though I’m two days into my adventure, they are only half a day into theirs. By this time, it was nightfall and they were about to rest for supper.

So much of Tolkien’s writings have to do with travel, and maybe that’s why I feel so close to them. I travel quite a lot (though hardly as much as I’d like). In fact, my wife, Sarah, and I keep a travel blog called Hey I’m Over Here. We’ll get around to updating it soon enough.

Whether it’s the Noldor, Beren and Luthien, Torin, Tuor, Bilbo or those mysterious Blue Wizards, everybody who is anybody in Middle Earth doesn’t stay in one place for long. Even the trees move! That is, except for Hobbits. In fact, what makes Bilbo and Frodo so crazy in most Hobbits’ eyes actually makes them normal for everyone else – elf, man or dwarf.

To me, it’s interesting to see the Hobbits’ reaction to travel, and through the book, we’ll see them display a whole array of emotions. But now, Frodo is wondering if he shall ever see Hobbiton again. He, more than the others, is realizing the weight of his journey.

Today’s Quote
“When the light of the last farm was far behind, peeping among the trees, Frodo turned and waved a hand in farewell.
‘I wonder if I shall ever look down into that valley again,’ he said quietly.”

On the Exercising
While yesterday I was beat, today I’m completely wiped out. After two miles on the elliptical, I figured I was going to give it up. But I caught that proverbial second wind and there I went for another four! Now, an hour or so later, I feel good, though my legs are still wobbly like a little baby deer’s.

miles today: 6
miles thus far: 10 (448 miles to Rivendell – 1,769 to Mt. Doom)
stopping place: On the back slopes of Green Hill.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 – The Last We’ll See of Hobbiton

  1. Yay I’m so glad this is happening!
    I love that initial passage. My yearly reread typically leaves me misty eyed when he leaves the Shire. What really connects me to the story is that sense of leaving and never (truly) returning. Especially having lived in other countries- once you go a part of you can never see the hills and trees of home the same.

    • That was really demonstrated for me when I returned to Pennsylvania for the wedding. It just wasn’t the same – and it had only been five years.

      So question – obviously Frodo was the most changed, with Pippin and Merry a close second/third, but was Sam really changed? I mean, yeah, he got to go to Valenor when all was said and done, but upon coming back to the Shire, he sort of just settled down and became the new Gaffer. So, did he?

Leave a Reply

