It’s Been Too Long, but Will Have to Be a Bit Longer

Three-ish weeks ago, I had a kind of minor surgery that I was told would lay me up for a week or so. And while that was mostly true, I’m still laid up. I had hoped that I’d be able to get back to exercising in three weeks, but that can’t yet happen. I had also hoped that I’d be able to start writing random bits about various Tolkieny things pretty well from the get-go. And while that technically could have happened, I felt pretty horrible, and it didn’t.

I’m feeling much better now, thanks! The recovery time was much longer than they said it would be, but not so long as to kill my summer. And speaking of not killing my summer, I’m about to leave for a ten day road trip across Nevada, Utah, some of Wyoming (seriously, like a tiny sliver), and Idaho. I’m ridiculously excited about it and hope I’m up to the task.

When I return, I suspect that I’ll be able to start exercising and thus writing and finally, finally move the Fellowship into the mines of Moria!

I really am sorry that it’s taken so long and that I’ve been unable/unmotivated to write. So what all of this means is that I probably won’t write again until early August.

One good thing to come out of all this is that I think I found the perfect photos to depict Moria, and I’m sure this trip will give me many more.

Sarah and I had a Facebook page and a blog that we used to use for journaling and recording our travels, but mostly we don’t use them anymore (which is sort of a bummer). If you are friends with me on Facebook, I’ll be posting a lot of photos, I’m sure. Some might show up on Instagram, too, though I mostly only post film photographs. Otherwise, when I return, and after I process the 40+ rolls of film I’m sure to take, you can see my antics on my photography blog. I’m weirdly easy to get a hold of.

Camera: Bolsey Jubilee Film: Kodak Max 400 (expired)

Camera: Bolsey Jubilee
Film: Kodak Max 400 (expired)

So sit tight, true believers! I’m not done yet!

23 thoughts on “It’s Been Too Long, but Will Have to Be a Bit Longer

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling better! Have a great road trip. I was discussing long books we’d been reading with a friend (she’s nearing the end of War and Peace…), and in the course of the conversation mentioned I’d read the Silmarillion because of your blog. Not mention learned a lot about LOTR.

    • Thanks! I’m trying to figure out what to do about the trip and the other blog. I used to spend an hour each night of travel writing about the day. But I don’t carry my laptop with me anymore (No need to since I no longer shoot digital). I’ll probably post a lot on Instagram, honestly. I’m loadfilminsubduedlight there. Feel free to follow. My photography blog will have a ton of photos when I return, of course. But to keep up with us, Instagram is the place!

    • Not yet. Life has gotten incredibly insane. Trying to figure out how I ever did three daily blogs. I’m hoping to restart this in a slower capacity. Maybe every other day. That said, I could really really use the exercise. Yow!

Leave a Reply

